C3.5 R2: Prepare and deliver educational seminar to pharmacists #4

✔ ADS for anti-coagulation done! It was a great learning experience to work on this academic day with Stephanie and Nichoe. Anti-coagulation was more complicated and evidence-heavy than I initially thought, and we were definitely fortunate to have Nichoe guide us through the literature, share clinical pearls and review our slides. Some things that went well were that we had started fairly early to prepare for our ADS and provided ourselves adequate time to review and practice. As there were a lot of literature, Stephanie and I had made summary slides to help highlight key take-aways and points – which I think will probably come in handy for our co-residents . For our case, during the presentation we were able to encourage discussion by having our co-residents form groups, commit to an answer on cue cards and justify their choice with the information presented on our slides. Overall, I felt very happy and proud of the work that Stephanie and I had put in to the presentation!

Prior to the session, Stephanie and I had practiced and timed our session to ensure that we were presenting at an easy to follow pace while still allotting enough time for discussion and breaks. Stephanie did a wonderful job facilitating the session and discussions, and I am glad to have her as my co-facilitator. There are definitely a lot of areas for improvement for me on my presentations skills. Presentations are still something that I find myself struggling with and I often found myself relying heavily on my slides and going at a relatively fast pace during the ADS. Nichoe has also provided me with very helpful and constructive feedback and I hope to incorporate his feedback and improve on my presentation skills during future presentations. A few things that I will aim to do during future presentations:

  • Pay attention to my audience and their body language – by relying on my slides, my attention has mainly been focused on my presentation instead of my audience. There were times where I could sense my audience getting lost in the content, but I wasn’t sure how to touch base with my audience or address the confusion. For my future presentations, I will slow my pace, take pauses to check in with my audience to see if everyone is still on the same page and facilitate discussion if needed.
  • Pay attention to my body language and my voice projection – this goes hand-in-hand with the first point. I have the tendency to fidget and talk very quickly as I often get nervous during presentations. For future presentations, it will be very important for me to regularly re-focus on my audience and how I can best convey the information presented on the slide (e.g. volume, pace and tone of my voice, body language, eye contact) and continuously reflect on the presentations I have already done.
  • Consider who my audience is, what I want my audience to take away from my presentation and try different methods to help emphasize and reinforce key points. For example, creating summary slides of heavy content slides, taking pauses at certain sections, asking probing questions and initiating discussion in that manner, incorporating my personal clinical experiences and reflection on them, providing memory aids
Leave a Reply

